Windows 7 supports motherboard change

My old MSI motherboard recently blew out probably due to power surges. So I decided to get one which had some kind of protection to power surge protection built into it. Luckily I got ASUS P5KPK-AM/PS motherboard which has an inbuilt anti-surge protection. I bought this motherboard primarily due to this reason, but I also upgraded my RAM to 4GB (2x2GB each) from my earlier 2GB (2x1GB each); though I knew I’ll be able to effectlively use about 3.5 GB only.

I have a dual boot system between Windows XP and Windows 7. I was pretty sure I’ll have to format my windows because according to my knowledge Windows didn’t support motherboard change. Here too, I was lucky. When I powered on the system and tried to boot into Windows 7, it worked so smoothly. All motherboard resources were detected correctly and I never even felt that I had changed my motherboard. All I was required to do was activate windows again, which I did and now it’s fully functional again. As a precaution, I just installed all the drivers/softwares from the motherboard CD less something might have missed my attention and would malfuncaiton when I need it.

The only thing that had stopped working was the front panel audio ports. I searched the web and finally got some hint from this thread in sevenforums that worked. 🙂

Windows XP however doesn’t work and I’ll have to format and reinstall it. I’ll do that whenever I get some time or I’ll remove it all together and forget that I ever had windows XP 😉

3 Responses to “Windows 7 supports motherboard change”

  1. Annette Trammell Says:

    hello thanks for the info.

  2. Microsoft Office 2007 Ultimate Key Says:

    Wonderful blog! I truly love how it’s simple on my eyes also as the data are well written. I am wondering how I could possibly be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which ought to do the trick! Have a nice day!


Leave a Reply

